Rossendale Labour Party covers the Labour Party Branches in the valley of Rossendale: Rawtenstall, Bacup and Whitworth and Helmshore and Haslingden. As our membership is increasing we are making plans to start meeting as separate branches again.

Rossendale is unusual in that the valley is split between two Parliamentary Constituencies: Rossendale and Darwen and Hyndburn, but all of Rossendale falls under Rossendale Borough Council.

Rossendale Borough Council is comprised of the following wards: Cribden, Eden, Facit and Shawforth, Goodshaw, Greenfield, Greensclough, Hareholme, Healey and Whitworth, Helmshore, Irwell, Longholme, Stacksteads, Whitewell and Worsley.

The wards of Greenfield and Worsley are part of the Hyndburn Parliamentary Constituency. The current MP for Hyndburn is Graham Jones, Labour.

The remaining wards form part of the Rossendale and Darwen Constituency. Darwen Labour Party hold regular Branch meetings. Rossendale and Darwen Constituency Labour Party meet every two months.

At present Rossendale Labour Party meet every quarter.

We work together to make Rossendale a fairer place to live.


The Labour Party is a democratic socialist party. It believes that by the strength of our common endeavour we achieve more than we achieve alone, so as to create for each of us the means to realise our true potential and for all of us a community in which power, wealth and opportunity are in the hands of many not the few, where the rights we enjoy reflect the duties we owe, and where we live together, freely, in a spirit of solidarity, tolerance and respect.

Labour has only been in government for four short periods in the 20th and 21st centuries. However, its achievements have revolutionised the lives of the British people. The values Labour stands for today are those which have guided it throughout its existence:

  • social justice
  • strong community and strong values
  • reward for hard work
  • decency
  • rights matched by responsibilities

For more information visit The Labour Party